Skip to main contentSkip to navigationSkip to search

The Nomination Committee's proposed Board composition

2 May 2024, 8:00 AM
Kinnevik AB (publ) ("Kinnevik") today announced that its Nomination Committee proposes the election of Claes Glassell and Maria Redin as new members of the Board at the Annual General Meeting to be held on 3 June 2024. The Nomination Committee further proposes the re-election of all current Board members as well as the re-election of James Anderson as Chair of the Board.

Claes Glassell has more than 30 years of experience in leading life science companies, both public and private equity owned. He was Chief Operating Officer and President of Cambrex Corp. 1999-2003, before joining as Chief Executive Officer of Cerus Corp. 2004-2011 and then Chief Executive Officer of CMC Biologics 2011-2015. Claes has been a member of the Board of Cambrex since 2016 and served as Chair of the Board of LSNE 2017-2021 and Chair of the Board of Quotient Sciences 2019-2022. In addition, he has previously held senior positions and served on the boards of several public and private companies and industry bodies, including Vitrolife AB, Cellartis AB, Nobel Chemicals, Berol Nobel, Cerus, the Swedish Chamber of Commerce in New York City, and the Swedish Chemical Industry Association. He is also currently a senior adviser to Permira.

Maria Redin has been the CEO of MTG since 2020 where she previously held the positions of CFO and Head of Group Finance & Controlling. Maria began her career at MTG as a management trainee in 2004 before going on to hold the position of CFO, and later CEO, of MTG's former gaming and entertainment company Bet24. Maria is a member of the Board of Hemnet and served on the Board of NetEnt 2012-2020.

The Chair of the Nomination Committee, Lawrence Burns, commented: "This year the Nomination Committee is pleased to be able to increase the size of the Board, and propose the elections of Claes Glassell and Maria Redin, both bring valuable experience in scaling company operations to the Board. Claes Glassell with an exceptional background in pharmaceuticals drawing on his distinguished experience at companies in the United States. Maria Redin brings experience from driving and accelerating the global development and expansion of MTG's fast-growing online gaming businesses, and now oversees a portfolio of gaming studios around the world".

The Nomination Committee further proposes that Lawrence Burns (nominated by Baillie Gifford), Erik Brändström (nominated by Spiltan Fonder), Marie Klingspor (nominated by herself, Wilhelm Klingspor and Amelie Klingspor) and Cristina Stenbeck (nominated by Verdere S.à r.l, AMS Sapere Aude Trust fbo HS and AMS Sapere Aude Trust fbo SMS) shall be elected as members of the Committee and that Lawrence Burns shall be elected as its Chair.

The Nomination Committee's complete proposals are presented in the notice convening Kinnevik's 2024 Annual General Meeting. The Committee comprises Lawrence Burns (Chair), Hugo Stenbeck, Erik Brändström, Marie Klingspor and the Chair of the Board James Anderson.